On Wednesday (30/06) Diponegoro University held a ceremony for Release of Team II of Student Community Service for Academic Year of 2020/2021. Considering that it is still in the Covid-19 pandemic, the release event is held virtually through Zoom Meeting platform and live streaming of Undip TV Youtube Channel at 09.00 AM.

Rector of Diponegoro University, Prof. Dr. Yos Johan Utama, S.H., M.Hum., hoped that Student Community Service can provide the best for the surrounding community. “Do the task as well as possible, because this is your opportunity to apply knowledge and do charity within a wider scope,” he concluded. “Please tell me if there are things that should not happen in this activity or others, for example if there any sexual harassment, report it to me. I would be really angry because there should not be people like that around us,” continued Prof. Yos.

Head of Diponegoro University Research and Community Service Institute (Lembaga Penelitian dan Pengabdian kepada Masyarakat / LPPM), Prof. Dr. Jamari, S.T., M.T., advised Team II of Student Community Service to always maintain personal safety in the midst of the Covid-19 pandemic. “The most important thing in this condition is safety and health,” said Prof. Jamari. “Safety is the most important above all,” he continued.

Head of Diponegoro University Service of Student Community Service (Pusat Pelayanan Kuliah Kerja Nyata / P2KKN), Fahmi Arifan, ST, M.Eng., explained that Team II of Student Community Service program will last for 43 days, from June 30th – August 11th 2021. Meanwhile the total number of participants is 4,380 students from 11 faculties. They will be deployed in 28 provinces which are divided into 170 regencies/cities.

The provinces included in the Team II of Student Community Service are Aceh, Riau, Riau Islands, North Sumatra, South Sumatra, West Sumatra, Lampung, Bengkulu, Jambi, and Batam. While on the island of Java, namely Banten, DKI Jakarta, West Java, Central Java, East Java, and DIY. In the islands of Kalimantan are West Kalimantan, South Kalimantan, East Kalimantan and Central Kalimantan. For eastern Indonesia, it is Bali, West Nusa Tenggara, East Nusa Tenggara, West Papua, West Sulawesi, South Sulawesi, Southeast Sulawesi, and North Sulawesi.

In the midst of Covid-19 pandemic, the implementation for Student Community Service of has changed. “Student Community Service which is usually carried out in groups or teams, for this period is carried out independently or individually or known as Student Community Service ‘Go Back Home’ (Pulang Kampung),” explained Fahmi Arifan, ST, M.Eng.

Students who participated in the events have been provided with SDGs material by Student Community Service by lecturers. The materials are about handling the Covid-19 pandemic, Community Empowerment, and other materials. For Team II of Student Community Service, 120 lecturers were involved, consisting of 109 lecturers of Student Community Service and 11 Event Coordinator Lecturers. (Dhany-Humas)

Translated by: Titis (Public Relations)