Diponegoro University (Undip) once again achieved a proud achievement in the field of sports. This time the achievement was made by Diponegoro Golf Community (DGC) together with BSO/UKM Golf Undip, Dipo Golfers, who won the overall champion in the Intercollegiate Golf Series (IGS) Series-2 tournament at the Ciputra Golf course, Surabaya on Sunday (19/06).

At the IGS Series-2, the Undip team was led by the Head of Delegation, Agus Choliq, alumni of DGC members, and accompanied by the Vice Rector III for Communication and Business, Prof. Budi Setiyono, S.Sos, M.Pol.Admin, Ph.D. The Undip team won the overall championship after placing 2 of its teams in the first and second positions. The score obtained by each Undip team, namely the Undip team 1 received a total score of 239 points contributed by Kokok (77 points), Rykho (78 points), and Darendra (84 points). Meanwhile, the Undip team 2 scored 242 points, contributed by Nadya (76 points), Agus Sumartono (82 points), and Yayat (84 points).

On that occasion, Prof. Budi Setiyono expressed his gratitude to the alumni and students who were involved in the championship and helped bring the sport of golf to life at Undip. “Undip is the first university to have BSO/UKM Golf and will continue to provide guidance so that the achievements will continue to grow. In the future, Undip will seek to build a driving range facility to become a place for students and alumni to practice.” said Prof. Budi.

In addition to being the overall champion, the Undip team also won in the individual category. The Undip team recorded trophies in several categories, namely Best Gross flight A, Best Gross flight B, Best Nett 1 flight A, Best Nett 1 flight B, and Nearest to the Pin Men.

Previously, the Minister of Youth and Sports of the Republic of Indonesia (Menpora RI), Dr. Zainudin Amali opened the IGS Series-2 on Sunday (19/06) morning. This tournament is a golf tournament organized by the Ciputra Golfpreneur Foundation (CGF) in collaboration with the Indonesian State University Alumni Association (HIMPUNI).

The Intercollegiate Golf Series (IGS) involves approximately 20 State Universities (PTN), including Diponegoro University, Bogor Agricultural University, Bandung Institute of Technology, Sepuluh Nopember Institute of Technology, Airlangga University, Gadjah Mada University, Brawijaya University, Andalas University, University of Cenderawasih, Hasanuddin University and other universities.